3 Comments

My Un-Announcement

The waiting is pure agony.

I’ve been chomping at the bit to make an announcement on the new Spokane tasting room… We have our building permit! The review took less than an hour, and we walked out of our intake meeting with the permit in hand. The plans examiner for the City said there has only been one change of use project approved faster than ours. It sure hasn’t felt very fast to me. We’ve been working on those plans since October.

We met with the loan officer on the same day we got our permit. We had great discussion over grilled cheese, portobello, and salmon, and she said we’d hear something within the next couple of days. It was a whirlwind day, and I was amping with excitement. I just knew our green light was imminent. I’m so tired of looking at that empty space, with its white walls and plywood floor…

Tomorrow will be two weeks later, and still no approval letter. Every day it’s more paperwork, dig out another document, answer a few more questions… I’m told this is a normal process, but I feel like I’m going bonkers over here. Hurry up and wait. Hurry up and wait. Hurry up and wait.

I want to make an announcement! I want to send an e-blast to our club members. I want to make a post on Facebook. I want to issue a press release. I want to shout it from the rooftops. There is only one thing standing in my way. The Yes.

And so instead I wring my hands and swallow my stomach and read gangster fiction. Any day now…

3 comments on “My Un-Announcement

  1. Good to read something from you! I had been worried…I’ll keep my fingers crossed for the loan application. It will all work out, I am sure.

Leave a Reply

