2 Comments

Sunday Brunch: Roasted Beet & Portobello Au Gratin

Image I recently came into possession of a box of cooking magazines, and I am in HEAVEN. Browsing yesterday, I found two recipes of interest, so I combined them! This simple Sunday Brunch Recipe serves four generously, and I spent less than fifteen dollars. You can find nutritional information here.

Roasted Beet & Portobello Au Gratin

Ingredients:
6 small beets, cubed
2 portobello mushrooms, sliced thick
1 medium yellow onion, sliced into rings
1 cup fresh italian parsley, chopped
1 cup panko bread crumbs
1 package muenster cheese, grated
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

Drizzle the oil over the bottom of a medium baking dish. Toss in the beets. Layer in half of the onion, bread crumbs, and cheese. Over this, layer in the mushrooms, parsley, and remaining onion, bread crumbs, and cheese. Cover. Bake at 400 degrees for one hour.

I paired this dish with our Patit Creek Cellars 2009 Merlot. Our Merlot is usually fairly fruit forward, but it became more earthy with this dish, thanks to the influence of the mushrooms. The roasted beets helped Merlot retain a touch of sweetness, but again – less fruit and more earth, like a sweet bark. I have never picked up those characteristics from our Merlot before. It was really quite delicious.

2 comments on “Sunday Brunch: Roasted Beet & Portobello Au Gratin

  1. My first look at this I thought it was pie! I am so hungry now! Will this find its way to a small Spokane kitchen?

    • lol it does look like pie, doesn’t it? Looking through the recipe, there is no reason I couldn’t serve this in the tasting room. It would only take a quick submission to the health district for approval. I want to focus on what is seasonal, and beets are best June to October, so I will likely introduce them to the menu around that time. You may need to remind me :) I have so much on my mind right now!!

Leave a Reply

