9 Comments

Choosing Interiors for the new Tasting Room in Spokane

My head is spinning, my heart is pounding, my eyes are burning, and I am smiling with delirium.

That’s what designing a new wine tasting room is like. At least, that’s what it is like for this first-timer working on a tight budget with an impossible deadline. The options are dizzying, the clock is ticking, and I’ve never peered so hard at a 2-inch by 5-inch sample of “santos mahogany” trying to envision it sprawling over a 1,500 square-foot floorspace.

I’ve spent weeks of research on the design theme. Now it’s time to start choosing interiors. We know we want warm yellow, textured walls; elegant burgundy, wood-grained floors; rich espresso trim and cabinetry; and bright countertops with bold, moving lines that tie it all together. It will be a cozy, warm, inviting space, especially on those frigid, grey winter days in Spokane.

My challenge continues to be finding actual product lines with the right colors and textures that fit my design scheme and my budget, but we are finally getting there. A solid 12-hour workday on Friday nailed down the flooring, the countertops, and the cabinetry. I’ll call that a success, since the rest of the interiors hinge on these. Yesterday I started narrowing the paint choices.

Those dern tiny samples! I swear you cannot tell what the end result will be, no matter how hard you stare and connive at that little piece of paper. Fortunately, Sherwin-Williams has a “Color Visualizer” on their website that allows you to “paint” an entire room, even compare colors on adjoining walls, to help you make the right selection. I found that the yellow I thought was too orange was actually quite beautiful, and the yellow I thought was just right was utterly glaring.

We decided to buy five paint sample jars, just to be sure. After all, it is a computer software program and surely can’t account for all of the natural contingencies. As I am checking out, the cashier warns me… the colors may not be exact, because the store is limited in their samples supply, and he had to mix my batches to meet my color requests.

You have GOT to be kidding me *:-p

In any event, here is your next sneak peek at the new Patit Creek Cellars tasting room, coming soon to downtown Spokane!

9 comments on “Choosing Interiors for the new Tasting Room in Spokane

  1. WOW. Good luck. I remember painting my apartments in Germany and getting the premixed colors. I hated the tiny samples, they really did not help at all imagining what the room would look like. Have you tried computer programs? I thought there were some available that help you get a better idea…but then again, that also depends on the size of your graphics card…

    Don’t forget, the most important thing about a wine bar or tasting room are the people in it anyway. They are what light up the room! I don’t see a problem with that.

  2. Ambitious is your middle name indeed. LOL… Love the pictures Sonya. Keep them coming. I can’t wait to see the finish product.

    • LOL You would know! Things haven’t really changed much, besides my location. I still don’t know how to do anything halfway… or slow ;) It’s SO GOOD to see you here, Brenda!!! Thanks for keeping up with me. Can’t wait to unveil – and then host your next getaway.

  3. Ooooooh!! So, so excited! Can’t wait to see it all!

    • I can hardly contain myself! I will be meeting the flooring professional tomorrow to walk through the space. Any suggestions for where I can find a great area rug at a reasonable price? It’s for the lounge area.

Leave a Reply

