6 Comments

Designing the new Patit Creek Cellars tasting room in Spokane

Creating the new Patit Creek Cellars tasting room in Spokane is a truly grand adventure. I have had the opportunity to re-invent my life, to be involved in an industry I am passionate about, and to develop a unique vision for entertaining a growing group of friends and family in the downtown Davenport District. Thank you for taking this journey with me! I will be posting regularly on our progress.

Here is the current challenge – Design the new tasting room to achieve four things:

  1. A Tuscan theme that will be consistent with the winery in Walla Walla
  2. Honor the history of the Michael Building, one of the first buildings constructed in Spokane after the great fire of 1889, in which was housed the Log Cabin Saloon
  3. Bring the old world charm into the new century to complement the metropolitan sophistication of Spokane
  4. A warm, inviting, multi-functional space for wine tasting, light cuisine pairing, live entertainment, dancing, and special events

I have always been rather jealous of people who have designed their own space, be it just the kitchen, an office, or an entire home. Needless to say, I am having a blast! But I am also learning just how much work and research is involved. I have spent the last month immersing myself in the study of Tuscan design, design elements at the turn of the 19th century, and current interiors in the various establishments of downtown Spokane. I need to choose wall colors, flooring, counter-tops, light fixtures, furnishings for dining and lounge areas, and more. Each piece must reinforce the four design priorities, they must come together seamlessly, and I must deliver all of this on time and on budget.

I have begun gathering a number of elements for consideration, emailing and texting pictures to my partner and beau back in Virginia. We have spent a number of hours by cell and by skype, laying images over and next to one another, discussing what we like, what works, and what doesn’t. We are narrowing our thoughts into a cohesive design that should be something pretty special. The next challenge will be to find similar, affordable pieces in the real living, breathing world. That is my next adventure! In the meantime, here is your sneak peek :)

6 comments on “Designing the new Patit Creek Cellars tasting room in Spokane

  1. I am looking forward to your virtual tour. Your the right person for the job.
    It’s 80 degrees and sunny here today, down under.

    • It is 22 degrees and sunny here in Walla Walla, so I get to rock the scarf today :) Thanks for the compliment, Michael! I am looking forward to sharing it, and am thankful for technology that keeps me connected from my far away friends. Hugs!!

  2. I cannot wait to see the finished product! It is going to be beautiful I have no doubt! Sounds a bit stressful, all that you are doing, but still sounds like an amazing job to undertake nonetheless!

    • You would be right. It is more than a little overwhelming, but I have tackled tough projects before – and one is WAYY more fun than any other I have been involved with! Having a blast but keeping it tight. Thanks for sharing my excitement :)

Leave a Reply

