6 Comments

12-hour Roux Shrooms

So I have been finalizing the menu for our new tasting room in Spokane. We will be offering a number of light cuisine dishes that not only pair with our wines but are also made with our wines. I happened upon this recipe for nine hour burgundy mushrooms on The Perfect Bite blog. I’m thinking, those would totally ROCK the shop, and I had to add them to the lineup!

12-hour Roux Shrooms

12-hour Roux Shrooms

Ingredients
4 pounds White Button Mushrooms
2 sticks Butter
1-1/2 tsp Worcestershire Sauce
1 quart Burgundy Wine
1 tsp Freshly Ground Black Pepper
2 cups Boiling Water
4 whole Chicken Bouillon Cubes
4 whole Beef Bouillon Cubes
1 teaspoon Dill Seed
5 cloves Garlic, Peeled

 
I did a test run last night, and I made a few tweaks of my own. I halved her original recipe, left out the butter, added a shallot, and threw it all in the crock pot with a bottle of our Patit Creek Cellars Roux. I cranked the heat on high for the first three hours, then I turned it to low and crawled in bed.

Patit Creek Cellars 2010 RouxOn waking, I was greeted with a most incredible aroma! Folgers ain’t got nothin’ on these bad boys ;) It was all I could do to allow the last couple of simmer hours before diving in. Mmm Mmm Mmm… The chew was oh so meaty, and the flavor was truly intoxicating (pun intended). The Roux is a classic Bordeaux blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Malbec, and Petit Verdot. Cabernet is in the forefront with rich blackberry and cassis fruit. A supporting cast of tart bing cherry, forest floor notes, and violets fill out the flavor profile. The shrooms and seasoning toned down the fruit and really brought out the earthy notes in the wine. I can’t wait to serve these in the tasting room – and I am certain I will need to double the batch this time.

As directed, I have reserved the broth. I plan to pick up some fresh foccacia today and dip my way to delightedness.

6 comments on “12-hour Roux Shrooms

  1. I love Washington wines! I’ll have to see if anyone here in Nashville carries the Roux… sounds delightful.

    I’m so glad you tried the burgundy mushrooms and enjoyed! Though I can’t believe you left out the butter :) but understand if you’re trying to make a healthier version. I made a large batch again 2 days ago and just made a delicious mushroom soup from the leftovers! Heated the shrooms in their broth, added a touch of half & half and pureed in blender. Oh my word it was good! Bon apetit!

    • I’m sure they’d be even better with butter – what isn’t, right?! I had to leave it out in order to prep them in my tasting room. No hood = no oils used in the cooking. And oh my! Your mushroom soup will have to be next :)

  2. by the way – where is your tasting room in Spokane? I get out there about once a year for work and I used to always make a trip to Niko’s Greek Restaurant & Wine Bar… but they have closed down. :( Would love to try a new place!

    • We will be opening in March on W Sprague, directly across the street from the Davenport. I won’t be a full-service restaurant, just a tasting room that loves to pair seasonal, light cuisines with our wines. Oh and your tasting fee will be waived when you visit… my way of saying thanks :)

  3. excellent! And we usually stay at the Davenport – so that’s perfect! I’m following your blog now – good luck with your new adventure. Hopefully our paths will cross… and if you’re ever in Nashville give me a holler – I know all the really great spots for wine :)

Leave a Reply

